×

Registration

Please provide the following information

ALREADY HAVE AN ACCOUNT ? login

Where do you teach?

Tell us what you teach

CTRL-F: Find the Facts is an online verification skills module designed to help students evaluate digital information and determine what to trust.




Create your account

×

TEACHER LOGIN

×

RESET PASSWORD

×

Add A New Class

Class details


Digital literacy education for educators

This workshop will be an exciting opportunity to learn and practice key verification skills from an expert in this field. A workshop description, times and facilitator bio is included below.

CTRL-F: Find the Facts — Educator Workshop

 

In this hands-on workshop teachers will become familiar with CTRL-F program and digital literacy strategies for verifying information online.

It will be led by digital information literacy expert, Mike Caulfield (Washington State University) who also presents the student-facing CTRL-F skills videos.

Attendees will be introduced to the CTRL-F methodology and three core skills, and demonstrated the techniques before applying the learning to guided hands-on practice. Mike will answer questions that arise, and offer tips for success in the classroom.

Total session time is two hours, including Q&A. There will also be an opportunity for discussion with fellow educators.

 

Dates & Times

 

Please use this Eventbrite link to register for one of the sessions.

Tuesday, September 29th
12:30pm PDT / 1:30pm MDT/ 2:30pm CDT/ 3:30pm EDT/ 4:30pm ADT/ 5:00pm NDT

Wednesday, October 7th
3:30pm PDT/ 4:30pm MDT/ 5:30pm CDT/ 6:30pm EDT/ 7:30pm ADT/ 8:00pm NDT

Saturday, October 17th
10am PDT/ 11am MDT/ 12pm CDT/ 1pm EDT/ 2pm ADT/ 2:30pm NDT

Friday, October 23rd
12:30pm PDT/ 1:30pm MDT/ 2:30pm CDT/ 3:30pm EDT/ 4:30pm ADT/ 5:00pm NDT’

 

About Mike Caulfield

 

Mike Caulfield is one of the key figures in digital literacy education, someone who is radically rethinking how online information literacy is taught. He lives in Vancouver, Washington, and leads the Digital Polarization Initiative, a national project in the US that aims to improve civic discourse by developing web literacy skills in college undergraduates.

His popular open textbook Web Literacy for Student Fact-Checkers is used by teachers at hundreds of institutions. Mike’s approach is accessible. The power of the skills he teaches is that nearly anyone can use them. He has supported K-12 educators implementing curriculum, including leading workshops for CIVIX and hosting instructional videos for middle- and high-school students.

Thank you

Your tools are ready for you,

Thank you for registering. We hope you find the materials on this site valuable and engaging. If you have questions or feedback, please contact us at hello@ctrl-f.ca